Ben Stokes pulls out of retirement, reveals stronger England squad

Ben Stokes- India TV Hindi.

Image source: India TV
Ben Stokes

Ahead of the ODI World Cup 2023, England star, world champion, greatest match-winner Ben Stokes has called off his retirement. On 18 July 2022, Stokes announced his retirement from ODI cricket. But after almost 13 months, he is back in ODI cricket again. This comes at a time when England will be the defending champions in the ODI World Cup to be held in India from October 5. Ben Stokes played a major role in making England champions in the year 2019. He scored a match-winning 84 runs in the final against New Zealand.

England Cricket announced the squad for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against New Zealand on Wednesday afternoon. One name in the ODI squad was the shocker Ben Stokes. He has come back from his retirement. Moeen Ali recently retired from Tests before the Ashes but after the Ashes he again retired from Tests. Ben Stokes had previously played 105 ODIs for England, scoring 2924 runs and taking 74 wickets. Now again Stokes can spread their fire in the upcoming World Cup.

What did the selector say about Stokes’ return?

England Cricket has released two squads consisting of 15 members each. Many uncapped players have also entered it. England will play a four-match T20I series against New Zealand from August 30 to September 5. A series of four ODI matches will also be played after this. Apart from Ben Stokes, Surrey fast bowler and uncapped player Gus Atkinson has also been included in England’s ODI squad. While Atkinson, Josh Tongue and John Turner have been given a chance in the T20 series. On the selection of Stokes, national chief selector Luke Wright said that I am sure that all cricket fans will be happy with the return of Stokes. His arrival will not only bring quality to our team, but the team will also be strong in leadership.

The full England squad

ODIs: Jos Buttler (capt), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, David Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes.

T20: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Rehan Ahmed, David Malan, Adil Rashid, Josh Tong, John Turner, Harry Brook, Ben Duckett, Luke Wood, Will Jacks.

Also Read:-

Latest Cricket News.

Ben Stokes returns from retirement Ben Stokes returns to ODI team in ODI World Cup

Leave a Comment