ODI WC 2023: World-beating team revealed

Ben Stokes - India TV Hindi

Image source: Getty
Ben Stokes

ICC ODI WC 2023: Only 50 days are left for the start of the World Cup 2023. Meanwhile, the teams started arriving. The ICC has already decided that all the playing teams will have to announce their squads by September 5, one month before the World Cup starts. However, this will be the initial squad and teams can make changes if they wish until September 28. Australia has already announced the team and now the current world champion team England has also announced their 15 players. The most important thing in this team is that Ben Stokes is back from retirement, Jofra Archer is yet to join the team. Jos Buttler will lead the team.

Ben Stokes withdraws from retirement

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Wednesday announced their 15-member provisional squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup. England have made several big announcements in their starting squad for this year’s World Cup, with all-rounder Ben Stokes included in the 15-man squad that excludes young batsman Harry Brook and star fast bowler Jofra Archer. Ben Stokes has reversed his decision to retire from ODI cricket and will return for the four-match ODI series against New Zealand next month. England selector Luke Wright later confirmed that the 15 players announced to face the Kiwis were also part of the provisional World Cup squad. This meant that Harry Brook missed out on a World Cup appearance for the first time, while Wright also revealed that Archer would only be included in England’s World Cup plans as a reserve.

Ben Stokes played a major role in England’s World Cup win in 2019
In the 2019 World Cup, England won the ODI World Cup title for the first time by defeating New Zealand in the final. The captain of this team was Eoin Morgan. Ben Stokes had a big role in winning this World Cup, he won his team in many matches with batting and bowling. He also performed well in the finals. Although Stokes announced his retirement from ODI cricket some time ago, he is now back. Meanwhile, it is reported that teams do not have to formally submit their provisional World Cup squads to the ICC until September 5. Further changes can be made till September 28.

England squad for World Cup: Jos Buttler (capt), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, David Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes.

Also read these sports news on India TV

Ben Stokes pulls out of retirement, England announces dangerous squad ahead of World Cup

This will be the first time between India and Ireland. After Kohli and Hardik, now it’s Bumrah’s turn.

Latest Cricket News.

World Cup 2023

Leave a Comment