Uttarakhand by-election: BJP retains Bageshwar seat, defeating Congress candidate by over 2400 votes.

BJP-India TV Hindi.

Image Source: File

Dehradun: In Uttarakhand, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has retained the state’s Bageshwar Assembly seat. In the election results declared today, BJP candidate Parvathi Das defeated her nearest rival Banasth Kumar of Congress by over 2400 votes. Bageshwar District Magistrate and Election Officer Anuradha Pal said that 33,247 votes were cast in favor of Das while Kumar managed to secure the support of only 30,842 voters. He said that the BJP candidate won by 2,405 votes.

The Bageshwar Assembly by-election was held on September 5 and about 55.44 percent of voters exercised their franchise. Das, who won from the Bageshwar seat, is the wife of Chandan Ramdas, a four-time BJP MLA from the constituency. Das, who was serving as the transport minister in the Pushkar Singh Dhami government, died due to illness in April this year and hence a by-election was held on the vacant seat. With the victory of Parvati Das, the Bageshwar seat has gone to the BJP for the fifth time in a row. Apart from Das and Kumar, three other candidates also contested from Bageshwar and their deposits were confiscated.

Bhagwati Prasad of Samajwadi Party, Arjun Dev of Uttarakhand Kranti Dal and Bhagwat Kohli of Uttarakhand Parivartan Party were also in the fray in this election. In the past few years, the elections to this seat have seen a direct contest between arch-rivals BJP and Congress. The BJP is in power in Uttarakhand with a two-thirds majority, so the results of this by-election will have no impact on the government. Political observers believe it is tantamount to a referendum on the Dhami government’s decisions, such as the creation of an expert committee to draft a uniform civil code, tougher laws on forced transfers and irregular recruitment examinations, and action against illegal encroachments. to do In the 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly, the BJP has 47 MLAs, the Congress has 19, while the Bahujan Samaj Party has two and two independent MLAs. (input language)

Read and keep yourself updated with breaking news, live news updates and exclusive stories from India and abroad on India TV Hindi News. Click on election section for News News in Hindi.

Leave a Comment