Team India repeated the 39-year-old history, it could not break the world record

Team India wins Asia Cup 2023 title - India TV Hindi

Image source: Getty
Team India won the Asia Cup 2023 title.

The Indian cricket team has won the Asia Cup title for the 8th time. In the final match, the Indian team defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets to win the Asia Cup title for the second time in a row. Team India created several records with this impressive win but still missed out on a world record after becoming champions. There, Team India did something that changed history after 39 years.

In 1984, Team India won the first Asia Cup title by defeating Sri Lanka, but not only that, India also won the match there by 10 wickets. Now in 2023, the Indian team once again won their 8th title by defeating Sri Lanka by 10 wickets. In this match, the Sri Lankan team was limited to 50 runs in 15.2 overs while playing first. While the Indian team scored 51 runs in 6.1 overs and won the match by 10 wickets.

This is not a world record

If we talk about ODI cricket, Team India missed out on breaking the world record for winning the match by getting the target in the least number of overs. If the Indian team had won this match in 3.4 overs, it would have become a record. But India achieved this record in 6.1 overs. However, it was India’s biggest win in ODI cricket when they achieved the target with the most balls to spare.

Biggest wins with balls remaining in ODI cricket

  1. England vs Canada – 277 balls
  2. Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe – 274 balls
  3. Sri Lanka vs Canada – 272 balls
  4. Nepal vs USA- 268 balls
  5. New Zealand vs Bangladesh – 264 balls
  6. India vs Sri Lanka – 263 balls

How was the state of the final match?

If we talk about the final match, in this match the entire Sri Lankan team was bowled out for 50 runs due to 6 wickets of Mohammad Siraj, 3 wickets of Hardik Pandya and 1 wicket of Jasprit Bumrah. In response, Indian captain Rohit Sharma did not come out to bat. Ishan Kishan and Shibman Gul opened the innings. Kishan remained unbeaten on 23 off 18 balls and Shubman Gill remained unbeaten on 27 off 19 balls. India won the match by 10 wickets by scoring 51 runs in 6.1 overs. Thus, India became the champion of the Asia Cup for the 8th time. It was India’s second consecutive Asia Cup trophy under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

Also Read:-

Sri Lanka succumbed to Mohammad Siraj, the Indian pacer shone with four wickets in an over.

The entire Sri Lankan team piled on 50 runs, Siraj took 6 wickets and did a great job, these big records were made.

Latest Cricket News.

Leave a Comment