The highest ever turnout in the Madhya Pradesh assembly elections was 76.22 percent, with Seoni district on top.

Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh saw 76.22 percent voting, the highest in the state’s history. Voting for all 230 assembly constituencies took place in a single phase on Friday. The voting percentage this time is the highest in the state’s history since the formation of Madhya Pradesh in 1956. The turnout this time was 0.59 percent higher than the 75.63 percent voter turnout in the 2018 assembly elections. Seoni district in eastern Madhya Pradesh recorded the highest turnout at 85.68 percent, while tribal-majority Alirajpur in the western region had the lowest turnout at 60.10 percent, officials said. Naxalite-ridden Balaghat district in the western region bordering Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra recorded the second-highest voting percentage at 85.23 percent, indicating that the ballots were won by bullets as the Maoists forced people to vote. Discouraged to vote. And created obstacles in the electoral process.

Statistics show that the voting percentage has increased in the last few elections in the state. It was 67.25 percent in 2003, 69.78 percent in 2008, 72.13 percent in 2013 and 75.63 percent in 2018. Since 2003, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the assembly elections three times, while the Congress has won only once. P) and others got votes. 10.61% votes were received. At that time BJP got 173 seats, Congress 38 and BSP 2 seats. In the subsequent assembly elections (2008), BJP got 38.09 percent, Congress 32.85 percent, BSP and others 9.08 percent. At that time, BJP won 143 seats, Congress won 71 seats and rest were won by BSP and others. In 2013, BJP got 45.19%, Congress 36.79% and BSP and others 6.42%.

As a result, BJP won 165 seats, Congress won 58 seats and BSP and others won the remaining seats. In 2018, BJP got 41.02 percent, Congress 40.89 percent and BSP and others 10.83 percent. Despite getting a higher vote share than the Congress, the BJP managed to win only 109 seats against the Congress’s 114, while the remaining seats went to the BSP, Samajwadi Party and independent candidates. Last time, the Congress was on top by a small margin and formed the Kamal Nath-led government with the help of BSP, SP and Azads. However, the government fell in March 2020 following a coup by Jyotraditya Scindia and MLAs close to him, paving the way for the return of the Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led BJP government.

After joining the BJP and winning the by-elections, Scindia loyalists were given important portfolios in Chauhan’s cabinet. Scindia was made Union Civil Aviation Minister. In the elections held on Friday, the electoral fortunes of 2,533 candidates, including BJP Chief Minister Chouhan and his predecessor and state Congress chief Kamal Nath, were locked in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). A total of 64,626 polling stations were set up in the state.

abandonment: Prabhasakshi has not edited this news. This news is published by PTI’s oral feed.

Leave a Comment