AAP announces names of mayoral and deputy mayor candidates, gives chance to new faces – India TV Hindi

Gopal Rai Announcing Mayoral Candidate - India TV Hindi

Image source: X@AAPDELHI
Gopal Roy announcing the mayoral candidate.

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party has announced its candidate for the April 26 mayoral elections in Delhi. Delhi Minister and AAP leader Gopal Rai said that this year the mayor is to be elected from the reserve category. This time the mayoral candidate for you will be Mahesh Khachi. He is a councilor from Deonagar Ward-84 of Karol Bagh. Gopal Roy informed that Ravinder Bhardwaj will be AAP’s candidate for Deputy Mayor. He is a councilor from Aman Vihar Ward-41. A few hours after receiving the tickets, Mahesh Kumar and Ravinder Bhardwaj filed their nomination papers in the presence of Delhi Minister Saurabh Bhardwaj and Delhi Minister Atashi.

He praised the current mayor.

Gopal Roy said that our current Mayor Shelly Oberoi and Deputy Mayor Ali Iqbal have done a good job in the last one year. He did great work to make Delhi a world class city through MCP. All the councilors have also done a great job but there is still a lot of work to be done and we will.

Attack on BJP

The AAP leader said that work politics started after the rise of Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi. The people of Delhi first gave you a chance to work by giving you a huge majority in the assembly elections and then gave a chance to AAP by wiping out the BJP from the municipal corporation as well. Gopal Roy said that BJP people have understood that Kejriwal and you cannot be defeated. So they started conspiracies. It started with MCD. Elections were postponed, wards were split in the name of constituencies. False propaganda was carried out for a year.

Your claim to be mayor

Gopal Rai said that the BJP went to the extent of stealing votes to make him mayor in Chandigarh. People of Delhi have given you majority, earlier also we contested elections successfully and became our mayor, similarly AAP will become mayor this time too.

Who has how many councillors?

Let me tell you that AAP has the support of 134 councillors, three Rajya Sabha members and 13 MLAs including one independent. The opposition BJP has claimed the support of 104 councillors, including one independent, and seven Lok Sabha members and one MLA. Congress has nine councilors and one councilor is independent. Cross-voting is allowed in these elections and anti-defection laws do not apply.

Leave a Comment